SQA Certificate and Intermediate Pottery class: Level 1

Man explaining something to another man

The SQA level 1 pottery course takes place over one 10 week term leading to the award of SQA unit: Introduction to Hand Building.

Hand building teaches you the foundation pottery principles.

The course is focused on developing a solid foundation in the pottery fundamentals. You will build on and refine the techniques and creative approaches learned in Foundation levels 1 and 2 or equivalent with another studio.

By this time, you will have a solid grounding in the technical and creative approaches to practice.

The course is underpinned by learning the design process and using it to research, develop, design and create new work.

You will follow a design brief or briefs focused on discreet themes and outcomes.

You will learn to design and build your own functional or sculptural forms in clay integrating the design process with a range of taught pottery techniques to ideate and make your own ware.

The complete course is over one 10 week term.

Each term costs £350 with materials, firing costs and certification included.

To be eligible for SQA or Intermediate Level 1 you must have completed our Foundation courses to level 2 with recommendation from your tutor or be at that level of practice.

Dates and Booking